Honours and Awards at the IFLA WLIC 2019 Closing Session

During the Closing Session on 29 August, IFLA President Glòria Pérez-Salmerón and IFLA Professional Committee Chair Raissa Teodori conferred the following honours and awards:

IFLA Scroll of Appreciation

In grateful recognition to the National Committee of the IFLA World Library and Information Congress 85th IFLA General Conference and Assembly

Christina Kyriakopoulou, Alexandra Papazoglou and Dr Filippos Tsimpoglou, Co-Chairs of the IFLA Greek National Committee accepted the award

Jeanne Drewes

For her distinguished contribution to IFLA and international librarianship, particularly in the field of preservation and conservation.

Steve Witt

For his extensive contribution to IFLA over many years and his engagement in international librarianship, particularly in the field of research and publication.

IFLA Honorary Fellow

Deborah Jacobs

For her outstanding achievements and efforts to inspire librarians and libraries in many regions of the world. With her support through the Global Libraries Program, IFLA has been able to increase its reach and galvanise the library field to advocate more effectively for the role of libraries in society.

Donna Scheeder

For her achievements, dedication and service to IFLA, particularly in the areas of IFLA’s organisational transformation and in advocacy for libraries within the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

IFLA Medal

Kai Ekholm

For his distinguished contribution to IFLA and his leadership as Chair of the FAIFE Committee. The IFLA Medal particularly recognises his achievements and influence in advocating for freedom of speech and people’s right to cultural heritage.

Barbara Schleihagen

For her distinguished contribution to IFLA and enthusiastic support of library associations and young professionals. The IFLA Medal particularly recognises her contribution to IFLA’s Governing Board and IFLA’s organisational development and financial sustainability.

IFLA Dynamic Unit and Impact Award

Awarded this year to:

Library Buildings and Equipment Section

This vibrant and active Unit has met all the expectations of a Dynamic Unit.  Their very active programme of events and sessions including the annual award, as well as a strong collaborative approach within and beyond IFLA. This is matched by a clear and effective communication strategy, which includes an active social media presence and good publishing activities.

The award was received on behalf of the Section’s Standing Committee by Diane Koen

Special mention for Communication and Advocacy

Knowledge Management Section

This Unit is recognised for its strong committee, who have shown good planning, effective communication, and a focus on building diverse membership and partnerships.

A certificate was received on behalf of the Section’s Standing Committee by Eva Semertzaki

Special mention for Partnership and Collaboration

Law Libraries Section

This Unit is being recognised for its achievements towards building effective partnership within and beyond IFLA in order to strengthen their area of the profession and support access to knowledge and information across the world.

A certificate was received on behalf of the Section’s Standing Committee by Sonia Poulin

Best IFLA Poster 2019

Awarded this year to:

Every good adaptation is also an innovation
Donatas Kubilius

Runner-up: Second Place

Library makeover: The sanctuary of the mind
Mastura Muhamad
Norelmin Sapuan
Norazhan Sahlan


Runner-up: Third Place

Libraries and climate consciousness
Lo Claesson
Anette Mjöberg


Full details on IFLA’s Honours and Premier Awards and IFLA Professional Awardsare available on the IFLA website.